Apologise.

“I’m sorry.”

It should be so simple and yet, sometimes it’s not.

What are you apologising for? Do you even know? No, sometimes I really don’t.

People apologise for so many things that the sincerity of one is lost and replaced by a sort of bitterness or a sense of necessity to clean up wounds you would rather not have to clean up later. Occasionally, people apologise simply out of habit as if whatever they’ve done would have offended someone even though it really hasn’t. This kind is probably the sadder ones. The fact that people apologise so often that they feel like their whole life is an apology, as if they’re saying sorry for even breathing the same air as another person is a tragedy. No one should feel this way, no one should have to apologise simply for living.

People makes mistakes, that’s granted, we’re human after all…But should we apologise only because we want to appease the other rather than understanding that maybe the fact that you think you need to apologise so often to one person or maybe more is a problem within itself?

Such a built in habit seems natural but if you look at the bigger picture, it isn’t. Real apologies are so hard to come by, maybe it’s because we’d rather brush it under the rug rather than talking about it or maybe it’s because we don’t know what exactly we’re apologising for, we’re just apologising for the sake of it – either out of habit or to look like the better person or even just to blow out the flame.

All of these reasons are the explanation why the sincerity of an apology is lost because of the murmur of voices all saying the same thing, all in monotonous synchronisation as if practised to perfection.

As simple as the phrase “I’m sorry,” is, generations of apologising have made it more complex, harder to accept…harder to understand.

2 thoughts on “Apologise.

  1. Absolutely love this.
    Previously, I had a tendency to apologise for the pain I have caused others, but slow to reflect on what the actual situation was, how my interactions hurt them, etc.
    Luckily, it’s something I am now aware of and –optimistically– improving.
    Wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have to agree that I did the same and often times belatedly reflected on what had occurred for me to apologise – in fact, in hindsight I feel as though my apologies were robotic in nature. Now, I too am trying to improve and I’m hoping that I have improved.

      Like

Leave a Reply

